Presidential primaries in February

By: By Charles Warner - [email protected]

UNION COUNTY — The 2016 presidential campaign will reach an important milestone in February when the Democratic and Republican parties hold their South Carolina primaries and give registered voters in Union County the opportunity to help pick the next president of the United States of America.

In a statement released this week, Union County Voter Registrar Darlene K. Pettit announced that the Republican Presidential Preference Primary will be held on Saturday, Feb. 20, 2016. This will be followed on Saturday, Feb. 27, 2016 by the Democratic Presidential Preference Primary.

Pettit said that voters may participate in only one party’s presidential preference primary. She said the deadline to register to vote and be eligible to vote in either Presidential Preference Primary is Jan. 27, 2016.

Voter ID

Pettit said that both primaries will be held under the rules that require voters to provide photographic identification before they can vote. She said voters must provide one of the following forms of photographic identification when they go to the polls:

• S.C. Driver’s License

• ID Card issued by S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles

• S.C. Voter Registration Card with Photo

• Federal Military ID

• U.S. Passport

Pettit said if a registered voted has one of these forms of identification they are ready to vote. She said that voters without such identification can get one free of charge from the Department of Motor Vehicles or from her office.

If a voter encounters an obstacle to getting photographic identification, Pettit said they should bring their paper voter registration card without a photo with them to their polling place. The voter can then sign an affidavit swearing to their identity and to their obstacle to obtaining photographic identification and vote a provisional ballot. Pettit said the ballot will count unless the county election board has grounds to believe the affidavit is false. She said that persons wanting more information on photographic identification should visit or contact her office.

Precinct Polling Places

Voting for both the Democratic and Republican primaries will take place in the following precincts and polling places:

• Adamsburg — Philippi Fire House, 263 Philippi Church Road, Union

• Black Rock — Bethesda Church Annex, 5751 Whitmire Highway, Whitmire

• Bonham — Bonham Fire House, 114 Mulberry Drive, Union

• Buffalo Box 1 — Buffalo Fire House, 132 Bailey Road, Buffalo

• Carlisle — Carlisle Town Hall, 3911Fishdam Avenue, Carlisle

• Cross Keys — Cross Keys Fire House, 4483 Cross Keys Highway, Union

• East Buffalo — Buffalo Elementary School, 733 Main Street, Buffalo

• Excelsior — Masonic Lodge, 805 South Duncan Bypass, Union

• Jonesville Box 1 — Municipal Complex, 131 North Main Street, Jonesville

• Jonesville Box 2 — Jonesville Fire Department, 101 Webber Street, Jonesville

• Kelton — Kelton Fire House, 130 Pearidge Highway, Jonesville

• Lockhart — Lockhart Town Hall, 118 Mill Street, Lockhart

• Monarch Box 1 — Monarch Elementary School, 218 Monarch School Road, Union

• Monarch Box 2 — Monarch Fire House, 1508 Lockhart Highway, Union

• Putnam — Putman Recreation Building, 3692 Buffalo West-Springs Highway, Buffalo

• Santuck — Salem Baptist Church, 1835 Tinker Creek Road, Union

• Ward 1 Box 1 — Foster Park School, 901 Arthur Boulevard, Union

• Ward 1 Box 2 — Truluck Gym, 103 North Church Street, Union

• Ward 2 — Union County Schools Maintenance Department, 1417 Whitmire Highway, Union

• Ward 3 — Housing Authority Office, 201 Porter Street, Union

• Ward 4 Box 1 — Union County Courthouse, 210 West Main Street, Union

• Ward 4 Box 2 — Recreation Center, 111 Thomas Street, Union

• West Springs — Community Center, 116 West Springs Ball Field Road, Pauline

Pettit said that some of the polling place locations for some precincts may be combined with others for the primaries as allowed by law.

The polls will be open at these location of the days of the primaries from 7 a.m.-7 p.m.


Pettit said that the following candidates are listed on the ballot for the Feb. 20 Republican Presidential Preference Primary:

• Jeb Bush

• Ben Carson

• Chris Christie

• Ted Cruz

• Carlie Fiorina

• Jim Gilmore

• Lindsey Graham

• Mike Hucakbee

• John Kasich

• George Pataki

• Rand Paul

• Marco Rubio

• Rick Santorum

• Donald Trump

Pettit said that the following candidates are listed on the ballot for the Feb. 27 Democratic Presidential Preference Primary:

• Hillary Clinton

• Martin O’Malley

• Bernie Sanders

• Willie Wilson

For more information about the presidential primaries, registering to vote, getting photo identification, and other voting-related matters contact the Union County Voter Registrar’s Office at 864-429-1616.
GOP primary Feb. 20, Democratic primary Feb. 27

By Charles Warner

[email protected]

Charles Warner can be reached at 864-762-4090 or [email protected]

Charles Warner can be reached at 864-762-4090 or [email protected]