FSA nomination deadline nears

SPARTANBURG — The deadline for nominations for the Spartanburg/Union/Cherokee Farm Service Agency County Committee is fast approaching.

“Union County farmers, ranchers and other agricultural producers still have time to nominate eligible candidates to serve a three-year term as their representative on the Spartanburg/Union/Cherokee Farm Service Agency (FSA) County Committee,” announced Glenn Thomas, County Executive Director of the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) in a statement released Monday afternoon.

The press release states that nomination petitions for this year’s election must be postmarked or received in the Spartanburg/Union/Cherokee FSA County Office by close of business of the nomination deadline of August 1, 2016.

“County Committees are unique to FSA and allow producers to have a voice on federal farm program implementation at the local level,” said Thomas.

To be eligible to serve on the FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in an agency administered program, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the Local Administrative Area (LAA) where they are nominated. This year, nominations and elections will be held in LAA #3, which includes all of Union County.

Producers may nominate themselves or others as candidates. Organizations representing minority and women farmers and ranchers may also nominate candidates. To become a nominee, eligible individuals must sign form FSA-669A. The form and more information about county committee elections are available online at: www.fsa.usda.gov/elections.

Elected county committee members serve a three-year term and are responsible for making decisions on FSA disaster, conservation, commodity and price support programs, as well as other important federal farm program issues. County committees consist of three to 11 members.

“It is important that county committees are comprised of members who fairly represent the diverse demographics of production agriculture for their community,” said Thomas. “All producers, including women, minority and beginning farmers and ranchers are encouraged to participate in the nomination and election process.”

FSA will mail election ballots to eligible voters beginning Nov. 7. Ballots are due back in the Spartanburg/Union/Cherokee FSA County Office by mail or in person no later than Dec. 5. All newly elected county committee members and alternates will take office Jan. 1, 2017.

“Nominating potential county committee members, voting for candidates and serving on the committees are truly services to your community and the agriculture industry,” said Thomas. “County Committee members make important decisions on how federal farm programs are administered locally to best serve local needs and interests.”

For more information about county committees, please contact the Spartanburg/Union/Cherokee FSA County office at (864) 814-2471, ext. 2, or visit www.fsa.usda.gov/elections.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).

For county committee representative

This story courtesy of the USDA Farm Service Agency.

This story courtesy of the USDA Farm Service Agency.