Union Daily Times

Dragway’s reopening a success

SANTUC — Over one hundred racers from several states were on hand to welcome back to life Union County Dragway this past weekend. Union’s own Jason Neely swept the Modified field by taking the win both Saturday and Sunday over some stiff competition. Traction was great, the family atmosphere was tremendous, and the fans saw the best racing action at Union in several years.

The grand re-opening of Union County Dragway was a huge success June 23-24 under the operation of Tony Brown. Brown returns as the facility operator for the next three years and was lease holder in 2013, 2014 and 2015 before spending two years at another facility in North Carolina.

“It feels like I am home again amongst the friendliest competitors and fans in the business,” Brown said. “My plans are to bring this place back to a point where it can be a major attraction again for our area.”

The facility is open most Friday nights for test and tune and the next IHRA points race is Saturday, July 7.

As Jason Neely and Billy Ally take the early points leads in Modified and Top Eliminator, respectfully, it will be interesting to see who of the one hundred plus racers can knock them off the top.

Full results are below.


• Top Eliminator

Winner — Billy Ally

Runner-Up — Damon Smith

Semi — Ed Pauley, Billy Varner III

Dash — Casey Sims

• Modified Eliminator

Winner — Jason Neely

Runner-Up — Britt Sinclair

Semi — Jeff Knight

Dash — Mike Kyser

• Junior Dragster

Winner — Chance Patterson

Runner-Up — Kaylee Miller

Semi — Jake Tucker, Ben Gibson

Dash — Chloe Price

• Street Legal

Winner — Whit Gibson

Runner-Up — Frank Funderburk

Semi — Tony Carnaggio

Dash — Mike Daugherty


• Top Eliminator

Winner — Casey Sims

Runner-Up — Jim Wood

Semi — Billy Ally

Dash — Tim Garrett, Travis Rollins

• Modified Eliminator:

Winner — Jason Neely

Runner-Up — Mel Shealy

Semi — Jeff Lambert

Dash — Jeff Lambert

• Junior Dragster

Winner — Stephen Rodgers

Runner-Up — Morgan Carroll

Semi — Harrison Crawford, Chloe Price

Dash — Chloe Price

• Street Legal

Winner — Whit Gibson

Runner-Up — Jamie Hollowfield

Semi — Pam Tucker, Woody Stout

Dash — Whit Gibson

Will host next IHRA points race on July 7

Special to The Union Times