Last updated: March 05. 2014 2:01PM - 464 Views
By - cwarner@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

UNION COUNTY — Three congressional offices, nine statewide offices, seven county offices, and the county’s only seat in the state legislature will be on the ballot in the primaries in June and the November general election.

The 2014 election season will get under way Sunday, March 16 at noon when filing opens for the June 10 Democratic and Republican primaries.

Union County Voter Registrar Darlene K. Pettit said that the filing period will close at noon on Sunday, March 30. She said that since the last two days of the filing period will be on a Saturday and a Sunday, her office will be open from 8 a.m.-noon each of those days.

Pettit said that anyone wanting to run for one of the partisan offices on the June primary ballot and the November general election ballot should bring their “statement of intention of candidacy and party pledge form” to her office. She said the form is available at scvotes.org and at her office.

In addition to the form, Pettit said candidates must also bring their filing fee. The fees are also listed on the scvotes.org website.

For more information about filing to run for partisan office in the primaries and general election, contact the Union County Voter Registrar’s Office at 864-427-1616.

Partisan Races

The primary and general election ballots in Union County will include a total of 20 county, state, and federal offices.


Seven county offices will be on the primary and general election ballots. All seven are currently held by Democrats, one of whom has announced that they will not seek reelection.

The county offices and incumbents include:

• Union County Supervisor — Tommy Sinclair

• Union County Treasurer — Dianne Wilkins

• Union County Auditor — Brad Valentine

• Union County Probate Judge — Donna Cudd

• Union County Coroner — William Holcombe

• Union County Council District 1 — Joan Little

• Union County Council District 4 — Ben Ivey

Cudd announced at the beginning of this week that she would not seek reelection but would retire as Probate Judge when her current term expires at the end of this year.


The S.C. House District 42 seat, the county’s sole legislative seat in the S.C. General Assembly, will also be on the primary and general election ballots.

Democrat Mike Anthony currently holds the seat but announced in 2013 that he would not run for a seventh term, but would instead seek the Democratic nomination for State Superintendent of Education.

Currently, the only announced candidate for the District 42 seat is Republican David Tribble Jr. Tribble is the former mayor of Clinton and a former member of the Laurens County Council who also served a single term representing S.C. Hose District 15 before it as redistricted out of the area.

District 42 is composed of all of Union County and part of Lauren County.


All nine statewide offices will also be on the ballot in June and November. All are currently held by Republicans, two of whom have announced they will not seek reelection.

The statewide offices and incumbents include:

• Governor — Nikki Haley

• Lt. Governor — Glenn McConnell

• Secretary of State — Mark Hammond

• State Treasurer — Curtis Loftis

• Attorney General — Alan Wilson

• Comptroller General — Richard Eckstrom

• State Superintendent of Education — Mick Zais

• Adjutant General — Bob Livingston

• Commissioner of Agriculture — Hugh Weathers

McConnell and Zais have both announced that they will not seek reelection as lieutenant governor and Superintendent of Education, respectively. Their fellow statewide incumbents have yet to formally announce whether or not they will be running for reelection.

Several candidates have, however, announced plans to run for statewide office including Vincent Sheheen who has announced plans to seek the Democratic nomination for governor.

A Republican and a Democrat have announced plans to run for lieutenent governor. Pat McKinney is seeking the Republican nomination while Bakari Sellers is seeking the Democratic nomination.

The State Superintendent of Education race has attracted a total of 10 announced candidates, including eight Republicans and two Democrats. Seeking the GOP nomination are Charmeka Childs, Molly Spearman, Amy Cofield, Gary Burgess, Sally Atwater, Elizabeth Moffly, Sheri Few, and Dan Jordan. Seeking the Democratic nomination are Mike Anthony and Montrio Belton.

Democrats Kyle Herbert, Ginny Deerin, and Parnell Riggs have announced their candidacies for Comptroller General, Secretary of State, and Attorney General, respectively.


Union County is part of the Fifth Congressional District which is currently held by Rep. Mick Mulvaney, a Republican. Mulvaney is currently unopposed for reelection.

Election 2014 will be unusual in that South Carolina voters will be casting their ballots for both of South Carolina’s U.S. Senate seats.

Both seats are currently held by Republicans, both of whom have annuonced they are running for reelection.

The seat currently occupied by Sen. Lindsey Graham is on the ballot because Graham’s full six-year term expires at the end of the year.

Graham is opposed for reelection by fellow Republicans Richard Cash, Det Bowers, Nancy More, Bill Connor, and State Sen. Lee Bright.

The state’s other U.S. Senate seat will also be on the ballot to determine who will serve the remaining two years of the current term. The seat is currently held by Sen. Tim Scott who was appointed by Gov. Haley following the resignation of Jim DeMint.

Democrats Joyce Dickerson and Rick Wade have announced that they are running for the seat.

Charles Warner can be reached at 864-427-1234, Ext. 14.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Union Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com