Cites possible conflict of interest

Last updated: September 05. 2014 8:31AM - 623 Views
By - cwarner@civitasmedia.com

Don Shetley
Don Shetley
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

UNION — To avoid a possible conflict of interest with his duties as chairman of the Union County Transportation Committee Don Shetley says he is withdrawing from the race for the Union City Council District 1 seat.

In a letter to the City of Union Election Commission, Shetley announced that he was withdrawing from the District 1 race and asked that his name be taken off the Nov. 4 general election ballot.

Shetley stated that he was withdrawing from the race “due to a possible conflict of interest” with his position as “Chairman of the Union County Transportation Committee (CTC).”

In an interview with The Union Daily Times Thursday morning, Shetley, who has served as chairman of the committee for more than 10 years, said that he’d become concerned that if he were elected to council and the city applied for and received an allocation from the committee it might give the appearance of favoritism. To avoid giving the appearance of conflict of interest and/or favoritism, Shetley said he decided to withdraw from the race.

The five-member committee is responsible for the allocation of the county’s share of C-Funds allotted by the state to South Carolina’s 46 counties.

As part of its responsibilities, the committee receives requests for funding from Union County; the City of Union; the towns of Jonesville, Carlisle, and Lockhart; and the local office of the SC Department of Transportation.

C-Funds may be used for the construction of new roads and/or the repair of existing ones. They may also be used for sidewalk repairs.

All projects must be on property owned by the requesting agency and be for a public purpose such as infrastructure maintenance and improvements and economic development. C-Funds may not be used on private property.

Shetley’s withdrawal leaves only three candidates running for the District 1 seat in the general election.

The other candidates are Tyra Lindsey Parham, Tommy Anthony, and Tommy Hill (incumbent).

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Union Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com